Posted on

I love Big Dumps

If you’re the kind of person who dreads the cold, and dreams of sandy beaches, we’re going to disagree from the start. But if you’re like me, the weather these last two weeks has probably given you all sorts of warm and fuzzy feelings about the season ahead. You see, my idea of a “good” winter, is a winter where the plows run constantly. Where the temperature never breaks 32 degrees. Where Mother Nature blankets us with layer after layer of that strange white substance we call snow. Barely into November, and the Front Range has already seen multiple storms leaving knee high piles of the stuff.
Ordinarily getting to the mountains, even once, before Thanksgiving is pretty impressive. And usually everything before Christmas is just a warm up. But this year could be different. Maybe they were wrong about this global warming thing. If things stay on track, we could be in for one of the snowiest winters yet. And honestly, I am excited. For many, the forecast of snow brings fears of shoveling and impassible roads. For me it brings dreams neck deep powder, and fresh tracks top to bottom. Nothing gets me as excited as the smell of snow in the air.
All the downed tree branches and loss of power aside, these last two snow storms have left me with good feelings of the season that lies ahead. Maybe with a little luck, and a few prayers to Ullr, we’ll end up with a winter to remember.

About TheUllrInfluence

John Age:22 Years skiing: 19 Where you'll find me on a powder day: Blue Sky Basin, Vail Colorado Sticks of choice: Volkl Mantras, K2 Pontoons Favorite terrain: Trees Favorite Mountain: Alta Utah Hero: Shane McConkey At about three years old, my parents first introduced me to snow skiing on the J-bar at Kings Ridge in New London, NH. No more than a development for houses these days, the mountain is gone, but my love for skiing has never changed. Early on I grew accustomed to the sheets of ice, and rainy days that New England is famous for. In High school, I raced for our team, in a modified giant slalom, on a bump of dirt that hardly qualified as a hill. All this did was feed my need for something bigger. After a few trips west, and the experience of real powder, I was hooked. After gradation, I made my way to Fort Collins Colorado, where I have had access to Summit County Colorado ever since. Many of my seasons approach 30 days on snow, at some of the best mountains in the hemisphere. Places I have been: All over New England Steamboat, Alta, Snowbird, Whistler Blackcomb, Heavenly, Squa Valley, Kirkwood, Copper, Telluride, Keystone, Breckenridge, Arapahoe basin, Vail, Beavercreek. Places I want to go: Silverton, Revelstoke, Alaskaya, Mt. Hood, anywhere in a helicopter.

Leave a comment