Posted on

Let the season begin!

With snow beginning to fall all over the High Rockies, I
think it is safe to say, the season is upon us once again. With temperatures
dropping low enough to run snow making machines, and Mother Nature making her
own contribution, the countdown to opening day is shrinking for mountains
across Colorado. If you’re looking for a day filled with multiple runs of the
same trail, loose slushy corn, and plenty of dirt patches, look no further than
Wolf Creek, Loveland, or A-Basin. Boasting opening dates in mid-October, these
three mountains are already available for your early-season needs. It’s no
secret that things don’t really get good until at least Thanksgiving, but if
you ask me, any day on snow is better than none at all. After all, how else can
you plan on getting 100 days on snow in a year?

These mountains not your style? Here’s a few other opening dates to
look forward to across Colorado:

Copper, Nov. 4th

Winter Park, Nov. 16th

Eldora, Nov. 18th

Vail, Nov. 18th

Steamboat, Nov. 23rd

Monarch, Nov. 23rd

Telluride, Nov. 24th

Aspen, Nov. 24th

Sunlight, Dec. 2

Silverton, Dec. 3rd

So if you haven’t started your pre-season training yet, time
is getting short. So start to run, jog, bike, lift, whatever you have to do.
But get ready, it’s going to be a good season.

About TheUllrInfluence

John Age:22 Years skiing: 19 Where you'll find me on a powder day: Blue Sky Basin, Vail Colorado Sticks of choice: Volkl Mantras, K2 Pontoons Favorite terrain: Trees Favorite Mountain: Alta Utah Hero: Shane McConkey At about three years old, my parents first introduced me to snow skiing on the J-bar at Kings Ridge in New London, NH. No more than a development for houses these days, the mountain is gone, but my love for skiing has never changed. Early on I grew accustomed to the sheets of ice, and rainy days that New England is famous for. In High school, I raced for our team, in a modified giant slalom, on a bump of dirt that hardly qualified as a hill. All this did was feed my need for something bigger. After a few trips west, and the experience of real powder, I was hooked. After gradation, I made my way to Fort Collins Colorado, where I have had access to Summit County Colorado ever since. Many of my seasons approach 30 days on snow, at some of the best mountains in the hemisphere. Places I have been: All over New England Steamboat, Alta, Snowbird, Whistler Blackcomb, Heavenly, Squa Valley, Kirkwood, Copper, Telluride, Keystone, Breckenridge, Arapahoe basin, Vail, Beavercreek. Places I want to go: Silverton, Revelstoke, Alaskaya, Mt. Hood, anywhere in a helicopter.

Leave a comment